Union of Tertiary Educators of The Bahamas


The Union of Tertiary Educators of The Bahamas (UTEB) evolved from what was known as the Faculty Association (FA), a long standing organization of the faculty at The College of The Bahamas (COB). Over the years, many present day COB faculty and administrators had served in executive capacity in the FA. While some veteran faculty members may remember the Faculty Association more as a social group, that was due in part to its lack of any real clout. The FA was extended limited participation in the running of the College, and this could be withdrawn at any time. In truth, the FA aspired to be much more.

In the early 90’s members of the FA decided it was time to seek union status in order to move the faculty’s agenda forward. In the spring of 1993, the FA accelerated its quest for unionization. The Executive at this time consisted of: Janet Donnelly, President; Omer Sher, Vice President; Deby Nash, Secretary; Arturo Hutchinson, Assistant secretary; Karen Lockhart, Treasurer; and Bridget Rolle-Hogg, Membership Secretary.

The Faculty Association took on a number of initiatives. We actively recruited new members. Omer Sher was meeting regularly with the Department of Labour to determine the basic requirements for forming a union, including the requisite elements of a union constitution. Those faculty members who were committed to the concept of a union met in March of 1993 to brainstorm on how best to move forward. Furthermore, faculty members were surveyed to assess the level of support.